Lent 2024: The Shepherd

The Prodigal – Rembrandt

I AM the good shepherd; the good shepherd giveth his life for the sheep.
John 19:11
The Bible teaches that man does not seek after God, but that God initiates the search for the lost man. Luke 15:3-7

1. There were ninety and nine that safely lay in the shelter of the fold,
but one was out on the hills away, far off from the gates of gold–
Away on the mountains wild and bare,
away from the tender Shepherd’s care,
away from the tender Shepherd’s care.

3. “Lord, Thou hast here Thy ninety and nine; are they not enough for Thee?”
but the Shepherd made an answer: “This of Mine has wandered away from Me.
And altho’ the road be rough and steep,
I go to the desert to find my sheep;
I go to the desert to find My sheep.”

4. But all thro’ the mountains, thunder-riv’n, and up from the rocky steep,
there arose a glad cry to the gate of heav’n,
“Rejoice! I have found My sheep!”
And the angels echoed around the throne,
“Rejoice, for the Lord brings back His own!
Rejoice, for the Lord brings back His own.”

Shared by the Laningas