Names of God: Everlasting Father

Everlasting Father
by Emily Larkin

For to us a child is born, to us a son is given; and the government shall be upon his shoulder, and his name shall be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace. 

I have always read this verse as Everlasting Father meaning that Jesus was eternal, that He would never pass away. When I sat down to write about this Name of God, I realized I needed to look into the Hebrew meaning to fully understand what the prophet Isaiah was describing about the nature of God. I learned that the Hebrew literally translates to, “Father of eternity.” It can either mean that the Messiah will never pass away as an earthly ruler would; or it could be using the term “father” to express possession.  There is a custom in Hebrew and Arabic where the term “father” means that if someone is in possession of a thing he is the father of it.   This would mean that not only is the Messiah eternal, but he is the Father of Eternity, meaning that eternity itself owes its existence to the Father! It means that the duration of eternity only exists because of His paternity. This, to me, is a much stronger image of the awesomeness of our Lord!

“Everlasting Father” by Elevation Worship

Turn my heart to You, O God

Remind me of Your promise

You restore what I have lost

Draw me near

Never-failing comforter

My present help in trouble

Though the earth gives way beneath

You are here

Everlasting Father

Enduring love forever

Your kindness makes me stronger

You run to me

You run to me

Even when I wander far

Your presence never leaves me

Your voice of mercy calls me home

Draws me close

Everlasting Father

Enduring love forever

Your kindness makes me stronger

You run to me

You run to me

I am loved, I am loved

By my Father, I’m forever Yours

[x8]

Everlasting Father

Enduring love forever

Your kindness makes me stronger

You run to me

You run to me

You run to me

You run to us

You run to us

God, You run to us

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_CuSWj8gstw

 

One thought on “Names of God: Everlasting Father

Leave a Reply

