Names of God: The Rock

God is My Rock
by Leslie Drury

Deuteronomy 32:4

He is the Rock, his works are perfect,
    and all his ways are just.
A faithful God who does no wrong,
    upright and just is he.

What are the attributes of a rock? Firm, stable, solid, upright, immutable, strong, and impervious are words that come to mind. Our Lord is all of these things. We can depend on His steadfastness; He does not change with the times or our changing situations; He is perfectly dependable and powerfully strong; He can be counted upon to be faithful and true when all else around us seems like shaky ground and we’re beset with doubt and fear. This Rock is also our shelter and protection: “From the ends of the earth I call to you, I call as my heart grows faint; lead me to the rock that is higher than I” (Psalm 61:2) and “The Lord is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer; my God is my rock, in whom I take refuge, my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.” (Psalm 18:2).

This is not an easy world that we pass through on our way home, there is much loss and pain at times. I can tell you that even in my unbelieving days when I wasn’t walking with the Lord, He was my shelter and my protection. As I look back over those years I see that God, my Rock and my Fortress, was there in the storm; I was just too blind to seek first this place of shelter as I wandered. Now when I find myself in situations that seem hopeless and bewildering, and I suffer hurts that are painful and soul-deep, I am grateful for God’s unchanging faithfulness and His sure grace; I stand firmly on the foundation of His word; and in my weakness, He is the solid stronghold to which I run.

When life seems especially dark and I’m walking through that lonely valley, this is the hymn that always comes to mind for me.

THE SOLID ROCK

My hope is built on nothing less
Than Jesus’ blood and righteousness;
I dare not trust the sweetest frame,
But wholly lean on Jesus’ name.

On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand,
All other ground is sinking sand.

When darkness veils His lovely face,
I rest on His unchanging grace;

In every high and stormy gale,
My anchor holds within the veil.

 

His oath, His covenant, His blood
Support me in the whelming flood;
When all around my soul gives way,
He then is all my hope and stay.

When He shall come with trumpet sound,
Oh, may I then in Him be found;
Dressed in His righteousness alone,
Faultless to stand before the throne.

Edward Mote (1797-1874)

 

Leave a Reply

