Listening Through Lent: Be Our Vision

Be thou my vision, O Lord of my heart;
Naught be all else to me, save that thou art—
Thou my best thought, by day or by night;
Waking or sleeping, thy presence my light.

Be thou my wisdom, and thou my true word;
I ever with thee and thou with me, Lord.
Thou my great Father; thine own may I be,
thou in me dwelling and I one with thee.

Riches I heed not, nor vain, empty praise;
thou mine inheritance, now and always;
thou and thou only first in my heart,
high King of heaven, my treasure thou art.

High King of heaven, my victory won,
may I reach heaven’s joys, O bright heaven’s sun!
Heart of my own heart, whatever befall,
still be my vision, O Ruler of all.

This past semester I took a Marketing class. I was particularly struck by how often the conversation revolved around “getting into people’s ears and eyes and mouths and minds.” Companies want us to see their logos everywhere, to have their jingles stuck in our heads, to gravitate towards their brands when we go looking for a product. These companies are actively competing for our attention and trying to direct our desires, and more often than not, it works.

I think that God equally desires to get into people’s ears and eyes and mouths and minds, but God doesn’t use the tactics of flashy billboards or neon signs or pithy taglines. He’s not in the business of using skywriting to capture our attention, but rather quietly knocks at the door of our hearts and waits for us to open ourselves to Him. In all of the ways that American marketing is manipulative and intrusive, God’s truth is simple and patient. God persistently pursues us and is never far off, but we cannot see Him or hear Him until we choose to see and listen. The fact that God goes about pursuing us in a completely different way doesn’t mean that God desires our attention any less. God wants us to see his fingerprints in every detail of our lives, he wants us to have the psalms stuck in our minds, he wants us to gravitate towards prayer with every decision.

May the Lord be our vision. May we choose to turn towards Him, may we choose to desire Him above all, and may everything else fade into the background of His goodness and glory.
~Hilary Gibson

 

 

Leave a Reply

