Listening Through Lent: Redeemed!

Redeemed–how I love to proclaim it!
Redeemed by the blood of the Lamb;
Redeemed through His infinite mercy,
His child, and forever, I am.

Refrain:

Redeemed, redeemed,
Redeemed by the blood of the Lamb;
Redeemed, redeemed,
His child, and forever, I am.Redeemed and so happy in Jesus,
No language my rapture can tell;
I know that the light of His presence
With me doth continually dwell.I think of my blessed Redeemer,
I think of Him all the day long;
I sing, for I cannot be silent;
His love is the theme of my song.

I know I shall see in His beauty
The King in whose way I delight;
Who lovingly guardeth my footsteps,
And giveth me songs in the night.

I know there’s a crown that is waiting,
In yonder bright mansion for me,
And soon, with the spirits made perfect,
At home with the Lord I shall be.

 

Alright, alright, I admit it. This has become one of my favorite hymns too. I particularly like the swinging way Emily plays it on the piano. When we sing it at the Chapel, it’s not just my husband with a smile on his face. I look around and see many others singing with a smile.

Unlike many other hymns that are quiet and reflective, this one is a proclamation of joy. There are times when it’s okay to dance and sing and shout praise and thanksgiving to the Lord. Celebrating our redemption should be one of those times. It’s okay to be overjoyed or even giddy when we realize and accept our salvation. There are few things in life that fill us with as much hope and everlasting joy as the promise of Heaven.

Psalm 95:1 says “Come, let us sing for joy to the Lord; let us shout aloud to the rock of our salvation.” Psalm 98:4 says “Shout for joy to the Lord, all the earth, burst into jubilant song with music.” And Psalm 149:3 says “Let them praise his name with dancing and make music to him with timbrel and harp.”

So dust off your timbrel and harp. Celebrate the good news. Sing to the Lord. Shout praise to the Savior. Pick up a toddler and swing them around dancing. We are redeemed. Proclaim it!
-Nicole Moore

Yee-haw
-Bill Moore

Leave a Reply

