Listening Through Lent: By and By

Some bright morning when this life is o’er
I’ll fly away
To that home on God’s celestial shore
I’ll fly away.

Chorus:
I’ll fly away, oh Glory
I’ll fly away in the morning
When I die Hallelujah, by and by
I’ll fly away.

When the shadows of this life have gone
I’ll fly away
Like a bird from these prison walls I’ll fly
I’ll fly away.

Oh, how glad and happy when we meet
I’ll fly away
No more cold iron shackles on my feet
I’ll fly away.

Just a few more weary days and then
I’ll fly away
To a land where joys will never end
I’ll fly away.

When I die Hallelujah, by and by
I’ll fly away…
~Albert Brumley

 

Most of us don’t want to let go
of this familiar soil,
rocky and muddy as it is.
By and by may seem too far
but it could be today.

As I’ve watched folks die,
it is not so much flying away
but a letting go of here
to be led there to that new home,
picked up and carried
to a Hallelujah by and by.

 

Leave a Reply

