Listening Through Lent: When I Rise

In the morning, when I rise
In the morning, when I rise
In the morning, when I rise, give me Jesus
Give me Jesus,
Give me Jesus,
You can have all this world,
But give me Jesus

When I am alone
When I am alone
When I am alone, give me Jesus
Give me Jesus,
Give me Jesus,
You can have all this world,
But give me Jesus

When I come to die
When I come to die
When I come to die, give me Jesus
Give me Jesus,
Give me Jesus,
You can have all this world,
You can have all this world,
You can have all this world,
But give me Jesus
~Jeremy Camp

 

Those who know me well
know I fret and worry
better than most.
Medical training makes it worse.
It teaches me to think catastrophically.
That I do, for a living:
to always be ready for the worse case scenario.

When it comes to my own aging body,
it isn’t hard to come up with worse cases.

When I rise, sleepless,
to face a day of uncertainty
as we all do, every day,
I reach for the certainty I know
to comfort me
body and soul
when I am afraid~
give me Jesus.
~Emily Gibson

 

Leave a Reply

