Listening Through Lent: How Long?

Life in this fallen world has us all slogging our way through the mud and mire, and at times we even find ourselves in a pit so slimy, so dark, that we are powerless to rise up and out. We try, sometimes using every vice known to man including trying to build a ladder out of material possessions, but there we stay, stuck. Or maybe we give up and our world grows even more dark and desperate.

But there is a way out.

We can call on the Lord and wait patiently. He will hear us and lift us up onto solid rock.

This is the setting of Psalm 40: 1-3 (NIV):

I waited patiently for the Lord;
he turned to me and heard my cry.
He lifted me out of the slimy pit,
out of the mud and mire;
He set my feet on a rock
and gave me a firm place to stand. 
He put a new song in my mouth,
a hymn of praise to our God.
Many will see and fear the Lord
and put their trust in Him.
The Irish rock band U2 was in the studio with a “slightly unusual piece of music” according to guitarist Edge, and lead singer Bono said “lets do a psalm,” opened up his Bible and found psalm 40. The result is a song I listen to often when the darkness closes in:
I waited patiently for the Lord
He inclined and heard my cry
He brought me up out of the pit
Out of the miry clayI will sing, sing a new song
I will sing, sing a new song

How long to sing this song
How long to sing this song
How long, how long, how long
How long to sing this song

He set my feet upon a rock
And made my footsteps firm
Many will see
Many will see and hear…

~Brian Vander Haak
(Most youtube versions of this song are live performances with the usual distractions, but I’m linking one of my favorite from the Vertigo tour in Brazil as I love the audience participation):

Leave a Reply

