Listening Through Lent: Near the Cross

Jesus, keep me near the cross,
There a precious fountain
Free to all, a healing stream
Flows from Calvary’s mountain.

Refrain

In the cross, in the cross,
Be my glory ever;
Till my raptured soul shall find
Rest beyond the river.

Near the cross, a trembling soul,
Love and mercy found me;
There the bright and morning star
Sheds its beams around me.

Refrain

Near the cross! O Lamb of God,
Bring its scenes before me;
Help me walk from day to day,
With its shadows o’er me.

Refrain

Near the cross I’ll watch and wait
Hoping, trusting ever,
Till I reach the golden strand,
Just beyond the river.

Refrain

 (Words by Fanny Crosby)

 

I’m sure some of you don’t consider this a traditional Easter hymn. You might wonder where the resurrection story is located. While rising on the third day isn’t specifically mentioned, the “healing stream” from “Calvary’s mountain” is certainly there, as is the resurrection hope of my “raptured soul” finding “rest beyond the river.”

This hymn usually gets stuck in my head in the days and weeks following Easter and I don’t mind one bit. I need it! Even though we might not sing it at the Chapel, I force it into my head one way or another. I need this to be my daily prayer all year long – my constant cry to the Lord as I stumble through each day. The words redirect me to where and how I should be traveling through this life.

When I get up in the morning,

Jesus, keep me near the cross.

When I need forgiveness,

There a precious fountain.

When I stumble and sin and fall,

There is a healing stream.

When I’m feeling lost,

Help me walk from day to day.

When I’m feeling tired and worn,

There is rest beyond the river.

 

Jesus, keep me near the cross!
~Nicole Moore

 

Leave a Reply

