Lead Us On

He tends his flock like a shepherd
Isaiah 40:11a

“What a simple verse,” most people would say. But though this verse is small, it has a big meaning.

When I read “shepherd” in the Bible, I think of comfort, especially when it is picturing Jesus. The “he” in this verse is talking about Jesus, the Good Shepherd. Right now this verse comforts me because on the news I heard about all the strife and shootings in the world. The Good Shepherd is with me.

A shepherd herds his sheep and leads them in the right path. There is a song we are singing in our school’s spring program that goes like this:

In this world of fear and doubt
With temptations all about
Hold to my hand
Dear Lord I pray
Let me put my faith in Thee
Till the homeland I shall see.
Lord, lead me on from day to day.

Lord, do lead us on. Lead us in the right path and let us know that everything is for good. Tend us like a shepherd.

–Noa Lovegren, age 11

Leave a Reply

