And There’s More…

Behold! I tell you a mystery.  We shall not all sleep, but we shall all be changed, in a moment, in the twinkling of an eye, at the last trumpet.  For the trumpet will sound, and the dead will be raised imperishable, and we shall be changed.
I Corinth. 15. 52-53

Part of chapter 32 in the Westminster Confession of Faith goes like this:
“At the last day, such as are found alive shall not die, but be changed: and all the dead shall be raised up, with the selfsame bodies, and none other (although with different qualities), which shall be united again to their souls forever.”
I don’t know about you, but when I read this portion of the Bible or what the Westminster Divines had to say about it back in 1647, I am dumbfounded . . . as in speechless with amazement.  Can it be?  I mean–How can this be?!  We shall all be changed. Twinkling of an eye. Trumpet sound. Dead raised. Imperishable. All changed. Behold. A mystery.

My work these days is mostly mothering. I change diapers. I fix food. I drive little people to school. I wipe things (noses, tables, floors and . . . ahem). I fold clothes. I pick up things. I am rooted in these earthy and good tasks, but reading 1 Corinthians 15 reminds me of something: there’s more. There’s more to me than only this earthly life and work.  I don’t comprehend it.  My mind is little.  But the Bible tells me: “Just as we have borne the image of the man of dust, we shall also bear the image of the man of heaven.”

I love how this chapter ends–with that wonderful, “Therefore.”
“Therefore, my beloved brothers, be steadfast, immovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, knowing that in the Lord your labor is not in vain.”
-Danyale Tamminga
Leave a Reply

