Weak and Wounded Sinner, Take Heart!

 “I do not understand what I do.  For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do.  And if I do what I do not want to do, I agree that the law is good.  As it is, it is no longer I myself who do it, but it is sin living in me.”
Romans 7: 15 – 17

Do you grow weary in your struggle with sin?

Take heart.

The Holy Spirit through the apostle Paul here instructs us that the struggle against sin in which the believer must and will engage is, even in our failure, both our affirmation of the goodness of God’s law and a powerful signal of the life of the Spirit within us.  That life within us that fights against the temptation to yield to sin is the new life that God has given us and that now constitutes our true identity.

Do not accept the lie that your true identity lies in giving up the battle and embracing the sin against which you have fought.  Accept and be encouraged by the bracing reality that our life here on this side of heaven is a battle with sin and that to fight the battle is to declare the truth that we are new persons in Christ, in whom we have the victory for which we strive.
~Daniel Gibson

Leave a Reply

