Suffering Like Jesus

“The Son of Man must suffer many things and be rejected by the elders
and chief priests and scribes, and be killed, and on the third day be
raised.”  -Luke 9:22

When I’m most like my old self and least like Jesus is when I’m suffering.

I had traveled across the globe to share the suffering of Christ with Rakhine people.

I had finally arrived. I spent busy days riding my bike around town, getting the lay of the land and meeting people.
I had strived to hear new words and dealt with stomach problems. It was the beginning of the big festival season.
I heard the electric guitars plug in and begin to practice for the main stage show.
It was 9pm and I was exhausted.
I laid there angry.
I had been through suffering, but this music was insufferable to me. As the musicians played their hearts out next door to me, I waited impatiently for the power to go out on schedule at 10pm. I was elated when it did, I felt like I deserved for the loud music to stop. As I lay there sweating in the Prince Hotel in silence the sound of a generator roaring to life brought my selfish anger back.

Suffering comes to us in many ways, but it’s useless if it doesn’t make us more like Jesus.

May we listen to the guitar rifts and drum solos in our sleepless nights remembering that God used suffering to perfect even his own Son.

Why should we expect comfort and ease?
~ Jim Randall

“The gospel is not a cheap consolation of faith.”
Mechthild of Magdeburg

Leave a Reply

