Christ Comes to Us to Testify to the Truth

37 “You are a king, then!” said Pilate.
Jesus answered, “You say that I am a king. In fact, the reason I was born and came into the world is to testify to the truth. Everyone on the side of truth listens to me.”
38 “What is truth?” retorted Pilate. With this he went out again to the Jews gathered there and said, “I find no basis for a charge against him.
John 18: 37-38

Jesus is on trial before Pilate, just hours before going to the cross, having been sentenced by the crowd to death by crucifixion.  Jesus says he has “come into the world to testify to the Truth.  Everyone on the side of Truth listens to me.”

Pilate’s response, “what is Truth?” is so typical of our world today.  They say “truth is relative”  or “that is your truth and it is OK if it is different than my truth.”

Webster defines truth:  Quality or state of being true, that which conforms to fact or reality.

What Truth is Jesus testifying to?
John 1:14  Jesus came as the Word made flesh, from the Father, full of Grace and Truth.
Jesus is Truth.

John 14:6  Jesus says “I am the Way, the Truth and the Life. no one comes to the Father except through me.  If you know me, you know the Father as well.
The Father is Truth.

All of the gospels are full of Jesus’ s testimony  “I tell you the Truth……”

Do we listen to Him?
Do we believe what He tells us?
Do we seek Truth / facts  in all areas of our lives?
Are we “on the side of Truth” or are we like the world who chases after “my truth”, which is often lies or fantasy?

Thank you, LORD Jesus, that you have come to teach us the Truth about who you are: Christ Our LORD and Savior.  Help us always to seek Truth,  to seek YOU.
~Pam Herbert

Leave a Reply

