Blot Out My Transgressions

Psalm 51:1

Have mercy on me, O God,
according to your unfailing love;
according to your great compassion
blot out my transgressions.

Every day, as the sun goes down,  I’m reminded how often I messed up that day, in big and small ways.  My mistakes seem illuminated, weighing down my heart, and impossible to forget.   Yet, as I pray like the Psalmist for mercy, there follows a peacefulness at the end of the day, as my errors are blotted out, covered over by the descent of the night.   The slate, one more time, is wiped clean.

I remember, once again, as the morning dawns, there is renewal, there is cleansing brightness, a promise provided within each new day.  I am given another chance to get it right.

~E Gibson

Leave a Reply

