Walking in Obedience

Jeremiah 7:23
Obey me, and I will be your God and you will be my people. Walk in obedience to all I command you, that it may go well with you.

We like to subsist on a Hollywood diet of stories of fated destinies.  We like to think our feelings could direct us well.  God’s way indicates a different type of “destiny”:

“Follow me,” he tells us.
“Seek me if you wish to find me.”
“Draw near to me and I will draw near to you.”

We desire a life of wellness.  God’s economy doesn’t promise prosperity, yet he invites us to walk in obedience to whatever unknown end.
In his Son, we see, in the flesh, the promise of God’s unending faithfulness if we approach the manger and the cross with the same devotion.  Walking with Jesus becomes the ultimate wellness that is our destiny.

~Breanna Siebring

Leave a Reply

